PDA

View Full Version : please help me,council tenant complaint

Pages : [1] 2

michsienna
02-11-2007, 03:25 PM
hi everyone, im new to this web site, but i am hoping some one out there could give me some much needed advice,

im sat here in floods of tears,
i live in a council house with my 3 children, i am a single mother.

a couple of months ago i contacted the council repair line, to complain about my frount door, it lets in the rain and has a whooping big gap at the bottom of it, they sent a inspector out to look at it, and he told me he will get a repair man out to re-seal it, and replace the glass, as for the whooping great big gap in it, he told me thats the design of the door, (yea okay maybe hundreds of years ago, i thought to my self) i asked the inspector can i put in a new front door at my own expence a pvc one, he said yes, as long as if you move you realise you wont be able to take it with you.

i had also had this very conversation with another inspector who came out to my house back in july. (can i put in a new door) he said yes too.

both inspecters told me that the council will be replacing the old windows with new double glazing ones,at the end of this year, but NOT THE DOORS, the doors will be staying has these are the standard concil doors.

both inspectors told me yes by all means i can put a new one in my self.

last week i had managed to save up the money to get my new front door fitted

yesterday i recieved a letter in the post that i will be getting a visit from some one from the council to measure up for my new pvc windows and doors.
i burst in to tears and phoned the council, i told them what had happend she told me i should of asked for permission, in the form of a letter, she said no one was available to talk right now and that a inspector will call me tomorrow,
well today came and no one called so i phoned them at 2.30, i spoke with another woman on the phone, who to be very honest talked so down to me,i burst in to tears again.